-Gymnotechieology-

Halfway Through 2012!

Sometimes it takes something out of the ordinary to give you the kick in the pants that you need. I know I talk about Disney a lot, but it is so difficult to explain how that one semester has changed me.

 

Something I’ve never really brought up on the blog is my anxiety. It’s not crippling, it may not even be what you consider severe. But stick me in front of a group of people or have someone yell at me and I would normally clam up. I took an Oral Communications class (a required Gen Ed) which was basically a class on public speaking. The first day I stood up to give my speech and you could hear my index cards flapping behind my back. Being down there and spieling to thousands of guests daily, dealing with unpleasant guest situations, and trying to prove myself (to myself and others) showed me how strong I actually am.

 

I never would have started eating better or exercising if I hadn’t gone down there. I would have never in a million years (!!!) signed up for a half marathon without the help of my friend Eric who participated in the program (yet, we never actually hung out) with me. I mean, heck – I came back 30 lbs lighter!

 

Because I went down there, I took a couple of classes online. I was terrified that I would fail them because they wouldn’t follow a typical classroom setting. I had never felt smarter. I learned the material without help and aced both classes.

 

I used to be this quiet, nervous, wreck of a person who sat in the back of the classroom afraid to answer any questions out loud. Now? Now I have no problem going to a teacher if I’m having an issue with the material or to speak up in class if I know the answer.

 

Even writing it down, it doesn’t explain how much I’ve changed over the past year. And we’re now halfway through the year. So, I’m ending this year with a bang. I’m going to kick the rest of 2012’s butt.

 

This photo was used with permission of Budget Fairy Tale. She’s pretty awesome, go check out her blog! http://www.budgetfairytale.com

 

First stop? Insanity. No… I’m not insane (well, maybe…) but I will be starting the Insanity workout program. It’s in the mail, on its way here. I should be getting it within the next week. I will definitely be chronicling my journey with that on here.

Secondly – Second – I’m redoing this blog. It needs a new name. I mentioned it briefly in a previous post.

Third – On my next payday, I’m signing up for the Disney half marathon in January. Originally I was planning on doing the St. Jude relay, but it sold out on the first day. This will be really fun though. I absolutely enjoyed it this past January. This time, though, I’m going to stick to my training plan. That was one downfall of being in Orlando. I didn’t train at all while I was down there because, in all reality, who’s going to pick running over playing in the parks? My school load will be lightish this semester (I did it that way since the wedding is in December) so I should have zero excuses!

Fourth – I’m officially adding Social Commerce as my minor. Yes, it adds on another semester of school, but it will be worth it. It’s a constantly changing & growing area that’s not going away. Which brings me to point 4.1 – my social media blog. It’s time for it to get a makeover and jumpstart back on track!

Fifth – To continue to push myself out of my comfort zone, I’m considering going to SXSW. The dates have been announced (nothing else) and it falls over spring break! So, I’m going to start saving up for that. And if I can’t make it in 2013? Then I’ll go in 2014!

Lastly – we’re at less than 6 months until the wedding and there’s still SO much to do. Expect to hear a little more about that.

Comments on: "Halfway Through 2012!" (5)

  1. Sounds like you have a lot of exciting things in the works! I can’t believe the year is half over already.

    • I know, right? Looking back I feel like I haven’t accomplished much at all!

  2. Good luck with the Disney run! We’re hopefully on Honeymoon over there at that time, so would love to do the half or full (or both!) marathons.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 310 other followers

